BEING “TANDY”

Most of you are probably wondering what “Tandy” means. Maybe you’ve Googled it, like I did, and found very little by means of definition. Maybe you’ve read Sherwood Anderson, and therefore have a little idea of what I’m on about..

Sherwood Anderson’s Winesburg, Ohio has become something of an American classic in its exposure of the frustrations and hypocrisy hidden within the typical all-American small town dynamic. The novel is made up of a bunch of short stories, and sandwiched right in the middle is the shortest story of them all – “Tandy”. This story is literally two pages long, but has so much to say. Without giving too much away, it encourages us to follow our dreams, and to do something with our lives that was not initially defined for us. It teaches us to understand that love is mutual, and to be brave enough to open yourself up to the emotion and turmoil that love brings.

This story struck a real chord with me, especially in light of everything that’s happened this year. I’ve learned that sometimes you have to be brave enough to walk away from something that’s no longer working for you, whether it be a friendship, relationship, or more. This year, it turned out I was very mistaken in some of those whom I considered ‘friends’. And I’m okay with that. I’ve learned what real friendship is, and never before have I felt such appreciation for my TRUE friends – the ones who do make the effort to text me every day and take me out for lunch and phone me for weekly catch-ups – and, most importantly, support me in everything I do.

Reading this tiny little short story reminded me that this life is mine, and nobody else has the power to dictate it unless I give them that power. I’m proud of myself for the way I’ve come through this year, and feel healthy and happy knowing that my mind is clear as I’m about to embark on the biggest adventure of my life so far. Tomorrow I’ll be jetting off to California for 3 months, thanks to Camp America! So things may be a little quiet on the blog for a while, as I’ll have limited access to WiFi and will probably be too exhausted to even write coherent sentences!! This is something I’ve been wanting to do for a long time, and I’m so excited and grateful for this opportunity to meet new people, try something new and, of course, do some travelling!

I guess the point of this post is that being “Tandy” is about being brave, which is exactly what what we need to be when opportunities like this arise. They require some courage, and hopefully by reading the story, you’ll feel just as brave and inspired as I did. You can choose to be bitter, or you can choose to be better. I choose better.

So yeah. Be “Tandy”.

 

Leave a Reply

